Knowing how to survive is one thing. But for those of us in an urban setting, if the SHTF, say a tornado or earthquake or some other natural disaster that cuts off the food supply, we have to prepare differently. Urban lots tend to be small to the point of being microscopic. So one has to maximize the use of that land as best as possible. One of the things we do is raise rabbits for meat and chickens for eggs. They require little space and a smart urban homesteader will quickly learn how to feed them off the land rather than rely on store purchased feed.
But, one has to have the stomach for it, though. For example, today I am slaughtering rabbits. They are a source of food for us during these very lean times when we cannot afford beef or pork and sometimes even chicken is priced out of our range. If I was squeemish, then raising food rabbits would serve me no purpose. Sure I could take them to a butcher or a slaughterhouse and have the work done for me. But, what if we experienced a large earthquake here and I could not make it to the butcher or slaughterhouse? How would my family eat? Knowing how to slaughter and butcher feed animals is a skill that will serve one well in times of emergency. Man up, guys, and get in touch with your inner caveman!



Leave a Reply.